Nuts most certainly are gluten-free in their natural state. This includes almonds, macadamia nuts, pine nuts, cashews, peanuts, pecans, pistachios, Brazil nuts and most seeds like sunflower and sesame seeds, as well. The one thing that you do have to worry about in some cases though, is if the nuts are roasted or packaged with any additives or flavours. When roasting, some brands do use wheat flour or wheat starch as a coating. This is usually added to thicken the seasoning, so it sticks better to the nuts. However, many brands do use gluten-free thickening solutions or just have very basic ingredients that don’t require a wheat starch, so their nuts remain completely gluten-free. It is also best to read the label on the package to determine the gluten-free status of the nuts you are interested in.
What about Candied Nuts?
If you are someone who enjoys candied nuts such as candied pecans or candied walnuts; there may be more of a concern with regards to people with gluten sensitivities, however. Again, it depends on the brand. In restaurants, more often than not, candied nuts will contain a wheat flour in their coating to help the sugar and seasonings stick better. One thing to note though is that candied nuts (and roasted nuts for that matter) are extremely easy to make at home and there are plenty of great recipes online that are gluten-free.
Furthermore, many nut brands cannot guarantee that their products are gluten-free simply because their nuts may not be roasted and packaged in a completely gluten-free facility. Thus, cross contamination is an issue.
Are Ayoub’s Nuts Gluten-Free?
Yes 100%! We just take raw nuts as they are and roast them, so no wheat/barley/rye gets caught up along the way. As well, we roast them daily in our stores, so cross-contamination is not an issue.
To learn more about all things roasted nuts, check out our blog on Everything You Need To Know About Roasted Nuts!